Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 07:54:05 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Falling asleep with earphones in

Started by Mobbd, May 06, 2022, 01:26:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mobbd

I've been doing this for perhaps five years now, drifting off to sleep with a podcast.

I've long felt that it's a bad habit I should probably get out of, but I'm coming to accept that it's just something I do.

My current earphones have a cable attached to my iPhone so I'd like to get some bluetooth ones.

I bought some supercheap ones on eBay but they have LEDs in them that light up the room.

Does anyone have a recommendation of a good, preferably cheap set of bluetooth earphones?

Or indeed any general comments on this?

Being cable-free, do they fall out in the night and get lost?

Does falling asleep with earphones in damage your ears in any way that people have experienced/know about?

bgmnts

Sounds very dangerous, if you need it in my recommendation would be a bluetooth headband. I have one and it is very comfy and the sound isn't bad. You look like a stupid Karate Kid knock off but it really is useful.

Martin Van Buren Stan

What about those pillows with speakers in?

Endicott

85db is the suggested safe limit for earphones, and a rule of thumb to work out if you're at that level or not is, hold them at arms length and ask yourself if you can make out the tune. If you can, they are too loud. But then time spent listening also comes into play, so if you are going louder it's not necessarily an issue if it's only for short periods.

I'd guess that if you're listening to speech, it's not likely to be that loud anyway.