Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 10:26:25 PM

Login with username, password and session length

I'm an artist therefore I am automatically entitled to money

Started by The Mollusk, February 03, 2024, 03:53:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Mollusk

Hell yeah provocative title. WOUND UP are you, artists?

Alright hear me out. The other day I got a suggested post of an interview with Rick Rubin talking about making music or whatever he does, turning the volume up loads and ruining albums. In the video he was saying the most freeing thing he learned to do as an artist was to stop creating by the supposed standards or demands of his audience and instead to create art simply for himself. I love torturing myself by reading comments sections I know will be chock full of putrid slime, so in I went, and the top rated comments were from people complaining that this was such a toxic thing to say from a privileged rich guy who can no longer relate to the struggle of an artist trying to make money.

I don't really care for Rick Rubin (mostly think he's a bit of a twat) but I do agree with what he's said here. What's more I find those hugely upvoted negative responses to be very typical of the world we live in now, and how the corroded collective attention span leads people to genuinely believe instant gratification and monetary value are the highest rewards for creativity.