Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 10:34:26 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Bus incident with teens spitting through straw at me - covid risk?

Started by Fambo Number Mive, August 31, 2022, 05:48:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fambo Number Mive

So I wear a mask when I use the buses or go into a shop. I've been doing this for 2 years now, and usually no-one comments on it.

However, I was on the bus today and a group of teens got on at the back and made some comment about covid. Then I felt something wet hit the back of my head twice. I think one of the teens was using a straw to spit his drink at me because I was wearing a mask.

I wasn't really sure how to deal with it and got off the bus at the next stop and changed to another bus.

If the teen who spat liquid at me through a straw had covid, is there much of a risk of me getting it? I know it hit the back of my head but could some droplets have gone past my head and hit my nose and mouth or eyes?

I was double masked and sitting by an open bus window, they were about 1 metre away.

I didn't know how to deal with it and am worried that I will see them again, given Oxford is a small city. I don't know if getting me off the bus was a win for them - I saw one of them turn round and glare at me when I was on the second bus. I feel like they targeted me because of my mask but I'm not going to stop wearing a mask on the bus.

Fambo Number Mive

I thought of saying something to the driver as I got off but was worried they would hear me and retaliate. Saying something to them would probably have made things worse, when I looked round at them the two teens who were in the seats one row from the back just moved to the back.