Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 03:47:13 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Reading The Bible (and other scripture)

Started by Petey Pate, November 10, 2023, 04:22:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Petey Pate

Recently read this amusing review of the Christian holy book by Mark Ames of the Radio War Nerd podcast.

https://web.archive.org/web/20210801015818/http://www.exile.ru/articles/detail.php?ARTICLE_ID=6791&IBLOCK_ID=35

It made me realise that I have little knowledge of what's actually in The Bible besides the stuff that you get taught as a child (Garden of Eden, Noah's Ark, etc) and what Andrew Lloyd Webber likes writing musicals about. I'm not as familiar with all the genocidal stuff in the Old Testament as well as how much of the New Testament is devoted to blaming Jews for the crucifixion of Jesus.

So has anyone on here actually read The Bible cover to cover? Are there any bits in it which hold up as a literary work? How does it compare to the Koran or other scripture?

Petey Pate

As an addendum, I just remembered this fascinating piece in the London Review of Books, which covers in depth the various translations of the 'forbidden fruit' story in Genesis and the origins of Christian misogyny.

https://www.lrb.co.uk/the-paper/v40/n05/anne-enright/the-genesis-of-blame

Clive Dogshit

CaB's favourite bit from the Bible

QuoteHe went up from there to Bethel, and while he was going up on the way, some small boys came out of the city and jeered at him, saying, "Go up, you baldhead! Go up, you baldhead!" And he turned around, and when he saw them, he cursed them in the name of the Lord. And two shebears came out of the woods and tore forty-two of the boys.

Clive Dogshit